23/03/2026

First Impressions of Galactic Season 10

I know we're already two weeks into the season, but I'm behind in terms of blog posts I want to write because with everything going on in SWTOR and the new WoW expansion (which I'm also playing), there's just way too much to do in the limited free time I have. I'm reminded of that comic where a guy looks at a pillar made of blocks representing his life, bemoaning that he doesn't have enough time for video games in his schedule, until he considers replacing the sleep slot in the last panel.

The comic I just described above

The comic in question. The "Owlturd" site no longer seems to exist, but I can still credit "Shen Comix".

Galactic Seasons are often particularly bad for this because no matter how much I tell myself that - even with my cross-server ambitions - I don't need to go quite so hard to achieve my goals and that there's plenty of time, it's still easy for me to get caught up in doing just one more objective because it was already halfway done anyway, and before I know it it's 1 a.m. and I curse myself for not being a more sensible adult.

Anyway, that is my way of saying that I jumped into the new season with gusto but almost immediately regretted it a bit and had to remind myself to step on the brakes a little. It's fun but I'm over forty now! I do need my sleep!

While I said that I didn't mind this season being a combined re-run of Seasons 1 and 3, I've got to admit it does feel a bit weird and bad to constantly claim rewards just to delete them (because I already have the Mythran armour set unlocked in collections and really don't need another copy of its belt right now).

My own crazy tendencies aside, I'm also a little worried after two weeks that this season may end up feeling somewhat grindier than previous ones. When it was said during the livestream that the "themed activities" for this season would basically be objectives to kill mobs and earn Conquest points with Altuur and PH4-LNX, I didn't think too much of it, but after two weeks of seeing these objectives in action I'm not so sure I like them.

They're not "hard" exactly - but they are a lot more demanding and restrictive than the objectives they replaced. Take the "earn 200k conquest points" weekly for example. In a regular season, I would often complete this automatically on the first or second day of the week without even really trying, just by playing the game in the way I enjoy. But earning those same Conquest points with one specific companion out is an entirely different kettle of fish.

Any group content that dismisses your companion is out: flashpoints, operations, PvP, GSF, world bosses. (Occasionally the points seem to get attributed even if your companion was forcefully dismissed, but this seems to be very inconsistent and is probably not intended.) Story content also either requires or at the very least encourages you to have a specific companion along that is not Altuur or PH4-LNX - this is also an obstacle to the "get kills with this companion out" objective.

So the only really viable things to do are to... do grindy open world solo content like heroics or dynamic encounters, probably my least favourite way of getting anything seasons-related done. Oof.

Mind you, even there you're not 100% safe. The most heart-wrenching experience I had in that regard was in week one when I was on 14 out of 15 dynamic encounters completed when I got a flashpoint pop. When I came out of the flashpoint, another dynamic encounter was active right on top of me and I was immediately in combat again. It completed and... I realised that my companion hadn't automatically been re-summoned when I came out of the flashpoint, meaning that the resulting 85k Conquest points were completely wasted as far as seasonal progress goes.

So I don't love that part. We'll see how I get on with it as the weeks progress. I did enjoy that the "do a master mode flashpoint" objective from the last season stuck around, and I had a bunch of very entertaining pugs that week. The integration of the Dantooine Crash Site into the weekly objectives was also welcome, and seeing a dozen Altuurs zerg every encounter that week was certainly amusing. I'm just wrinkling my nose a bit as I'm looking ahead at the next couple of weeks, as I fear there'll be a lot more dailies in my future.

Oh, and let's not forget that Broadsword brought the DvL bosses back yet again. Funny how they didn't mention that during the dev livestream, huh? I'm guessing they knew it wasn't going to be a popular decision and it was simply the easiest option to copy and paste that meta one more time. I've killed these buggers three times over at this point, so this will be my fourth time on Darth Malgus, not counting additional duplicate kills and the fact that I've also done some on other servers. Just ugh.

12/03/2026

Gates Crashed

I bet you're expecting me to post about the patch! I will at some point of course, but not today. Today I want to talk about something else that happened this week.

Back in December I wrote about how I finally defeated my nemesis Dread Master Brontes (master mode) during my progression team's last operation of the year. I was sure that after three months of working on that kill, everyone would be dying to spend time anywhere other than Dread Fortress in the new year, but when I polled them over the holidays about what we should be doing next, the surprising result was that pretty much everyone wanted to go back to DF and beat up Brontes some more.

So we did that, and started earning Wings of the Architect for everyone. I'll forever feel slightly conflicted about that mount, because while it's a very cool and unique model, it doesn't fit my trooper main at all. It just used to be very prestigious to have for its rarity, though I guess it's less prestigious now, after my whole team acquired it.

Shintar the trooper showing off her Wings of the Architect outside Dread Fortress

As we got close to everyone having the mount and being able to kill Brontes more reliably (I hesitate to say that we had her "on farm", considering that we still wiped on her a lot as well), we started working on the achievement for the timed run. After shaking off some rust on the earlier bosses (we'd usually been able to use a lockout for our Brontes kill, so we'd skipped the first four bosses for several weeks) and after Mr Commando got very mad at our dps for being unable to remember their Draxus assignments, we got somewhat better at that too.

The timer for Dread Fortress isn't as tight as the one for Dread Palace, but things on Brontes can just go wrong so easily, and even if you have a clean run up to her room, you only have up to a maximum of three or so good attempts at her before the timer expires. Yesterday we'd had our best run at it up to then, with a pretty smooth clear of the first four bosses and enough time for those three full tries on Brontes herself - and they were all pretty decent as well, but alas, it just wasn't meant to be. One was a wipe at 0.8%. We even gave it a few more goes after the timer had expired, but that evening we just couldn't get her down.

When it came to the question of what we should do tonight, whether we should go back to trying to just kill Brontes or re-attempt the timed run on alts, I was initially in favour of the latter. But then I came home late from work, one of our dps players dropped out on short notice, and Mr Commando reminded me that his co-tank for the evening had actually never successfully killed Brontes with us. He soon had me convinced that it was probably better to go directly back to Brontes after all and just try to get a first kill with the less experienced co-tank.

However, the rest of our team had other ideas. They really wanted to try the full run again! So we gave in and started from scratch again. I felt pretty confident that we weren't going to be successful, so I wasn't too worried, but apparently that more relaxed approach was magic. We breezed through the first few bosses and then... killed Brontes on our very first attempt! With the co-tank who'd never killed her with us before! We just had such an insane amount of luck with the orbs, we could hardly believe it (though I also cursed a little for getting the title on my alt instead of my main).

The Gate Crasher achievement pops up just as my Commando alt is about to die, and only two other members of the group are left alive

After the extremely rocky experiences I had with raiding in early Legacy of the Sith, I didn't expect to finish the expansion on such a high. Now we just need to do it again so I can get the title on my main and so the members of our team who weren't there tonight can get the achievement too.

Members of Twin Suns Squadron posing over the defeated Dread Master Brontes, with everyone displaying their new Gate Crasher title

06/03/2026

Delayed 7.8.1 Dev Livestream Reaction

Soo... there was a dev livestream over a week ago now! I did actually watch it live on my second monitor at the time, while doing an operation with my guildies, and I remember thinking "I've got to get back to this and write a post about it maybe tomorrow or on Friday" - and then things got a bit crazy.

I still wanted to jot down some thoughts on it though, even if it's belated. We know now that the patch will already drop this Tuesday, so I figured I've got to get in there before it'll be no longer relevant.

As had already been mentioned previously, the patch will be called Master's Enigma, and based on the little preview they showed without getting too spoilery, it looks like we're not yet done with Darth Nul's legacy, as she didn't just have that sanctum on Elom but apparently also a starship somewhere. We'll see how that goes!

As an aside, people always complain about there being too much time between story updates, but I've got to admit that this one time they've sped it up I'm actually sitting here thinking "wow, another story update so soon". I've only played through Galactic Threads on a few characters so far, so it feels like I've still got lots of catching up to do. Is it just me?

Anyway, the stream obviously covered a bunch of different topics related to the patch as usual, such as Spring Abundance returning with a new pet reward, the date nights with Kira and Torian, and the newest Cartel Market additions. As usual, I won't go into all of that here. There's a written summary on the official website, and Swtorista, Today in TOR and Vulkk all have their own posts as well. For me, there are just two subjects I really wanted to comment on:

Galactic Season 10 & 11

Keith informed us in his end-of-year Producer's Letter that "[the next] season will work a little differently than previous seasons" and as someone who's a bit of a connoisseur of seasons at this point, I was very curious to find out what that meant.

I'd had some conversations with friends in which we speculated about different possibilities and "bringing back old rewards" was one of those, so finding out that Season 10 will - in terms of rewards - be a mash-up of Seasons 1 and 3 with just a few new rewards added was not exactly a shock. (Season 11 will do the same thing with Season 2 and 4.)

Altuur and PH4-LNX in my Manaan stronghold

It's not something that's personally exciting to me as someone who already completed all those seasons the first time around, but at the same time I'm actually surprisingly sanguine about it. I could easily imagine others who already have all those rewards being bitter about it ("Not only do they use seasons to recycle old content, now the seasons themselves are recycled too!" - something like that) but personally I actually really don't mind.

I know that I'm in a pretty hardcore minority, and I've seen my fair share of comments and questions from newer players who were interested in one of the companions or armour sets from earlier seasons and were disappointed that there was no way to get them anymore, so I understand that there was demand to bring them back. I'm happy those people get their chance now! Also, I didn't start doing seasons on the other servers until Season 2 (and the Shae Vizla server obviously didn't even exist until Season 5), so I'll have some fun earning some of the older rewards for a second time over there. (Technically I have all of it already unlocked in collections, but this is more fun.)

Also, there was some talk about 8.0 being in development alongside everything else that's happening, so it seemed reasonable to me to infer that putting a little less resource into the next two seasons will free up a bit of extra time for more focus on 8.0, which seems fair enough to me.

Speaking of 8.0...

We still don't know a lot more about what 8.0 will contain, but Eric and Keith dedicated a whole segment of the stream to talking about what their plans for it are in terms of releasing more information over time, which I thought was extremely interesting.

First off, they don't want to tell us too much just yet because the Legacy of the Sith story has two more patches to go and they want to give it a chance to play out in full without spoiling anything or even taking too much attention away from it, which I think is very fair and fits with the devs' commitment to treating the game's story as the most important thing, which is one of the main things I love about SWTOR.

However, they also said that they are planning to release more information in bits and pieces over time, to introduce new features and let us test them on the PTS as they reach a playable state, and I thought that was an interesting and novel approach. Usually expansion announcements are these big, attention-grabbing info dumps, so to know that an expansion is coming without much else, and that additional information will be released piecemeal over the course of a whole year is quite different. It's also a relatively long time to know about it in advance, as traditionally, SWTOR expansions have tended to be announced only two to four months before their launch date.

I'm very curious to see how this will play out in terms of expectations and hype, because on a purely theoretical level, I can think of ways in which this could go either very well or very badly. I'm hoping for the best outcome of course - just saying. Either way, I really appreciate the devs' attempt at being transparent about what's coming, when so much of Legacy of the Sith has been living from one patch to the next, without the slightest clue of what was going to be happening in six months.

One thing Keith and Eric did say about 8.0's content (it was even on the slides) was that they were planning to "create new content, gameplay, and systems that appeal to group, solo, and story players" and that they are aiming to "celebrate the breadth and depth of SWTOR to power new content and systems", which I understood to mean that they won't just be plopping a new planet and five more levels on top of what we have now, but that at least some of the new stuff will be integrated into existing planets and systems, perhaps similarly to how dynamic encounters added something new to do on classic planets. One Keith quote in particular that stood out to me was: "We're going back to old content and do something with it so it feels like new content." Could it be that they'll finally do something with flashpoints again? No, I mustn't daydream too much about specific things I'd like to see, because it's almost never what we expect. Regardless, I look forward to the journey of finding out.

03/03/2026

Total Galactic War: A Challenge over Taris

If it seemed like I fell off the face of the earth about a week ago and you were maybe wondering why I wasn't posting about recent events about which I should surely have something to say, such as last week's dev livestream or the new WoW expansion, it's because it was Total Galactic War in SWTOR again, and it ended up being another very intense one. I don't mean for these things to swallow up my entire free time, but sometimes it just happens!

As the last TGW had occurred only about a month ago, I wasn't exactly itching for a particularly tough or involved competition, but unfortunately it doesn't matter how much care I take in selecting an invasion target and avoiding the mega guilds, it seems to be becoming a trend that some relatively unknown guild likes to muscle in on our territory, and it's always one that is both very determined to win while also not really knowing what they signed themselves up for. (Twin Suns Squadron has won every single planet it invaded during Total Galactic War since at least 2022. We're not easy prey for newcomers.)

I had chosen for us to invade Taris since a couple of our members still needed the achievement for that one, and it's often one of the easier options as it's split by faction, meaning we'd only have to go up against other Republic guilds, with any Imperial competitors completely out of the picture. On top of that, the guild that was in the lead when we invaded didn't have a very high score, nor did they look particularly threatening.

Trouble on the horizon (or scoreboard) 

However, we'd barely claimed our spot when another contender appeared, a guild called "Sequels are trash". Now, I'm not going to lie: that guild name immediately made me want to beat them more than our average opponents. While I'm no fan of the sequel trilogy myself, I'm very wary of people who make disliking a certain piece of media their primary flag to fly online. (That said, it was amusing to me how whenever I wanted to check what they were up to during the event, I had to type "/who trash" and their guild name gave me an excuse to refer to them as "Trashies" when discussing the competition with my guildies.)

Initially, I thought that beating them should be easy enough. They were not a known entity in the Conquest scene, and the only achievement they had to their name was conquering Balmorra in the previous TGW, but with a relatively low score and against no real competition. So my guildies and I didn't really fret too much about it for the first couple of days. We made a point of taking part in some dedicated activities to earn Conquest points like we always do, but without too much pressure.

When my ops team didn't have a good group for master mode Dread Fortress on Wednesday for example, we decided to do MM Explosive Conflict instead "for the Conquest points". While we did complete it, we made quite a mess of it and it took us all evening to clear, which meant that it didn't really make for a very effective method of Conquest point acquisition. However, we weren't really worried yet at this point, as our competition didn't seem super organised yet either, even if they were initially ahead of us in terms of points. Like us, they visibly had some people working on Conquest but no large-scale efforts were in progress whenever we checked.

However, as we ramped up our efforts in order to catch up to and overtake them, so did they in order to stay in first place, seemingly always just a little bit ahead of us, no matter how hard we tried. When we did more uprisings for points, they also started doing more uprisings, and they always had just a few more people online - not so many that they were unbeatable, but just enough to always stay that little bit ahead.

By Saturday morning I decided to post a call to action on Discord, asking more guildies to take part in our Conquest shenanigans, as clearly more numbers were needed. That same evening, we decided to go rampaging across the galaxy as a group to mass-generate points. (I explained this concept before.) We thought that this was going to be a sure-fire way to overtake the Trashies, but lo and behold, two hours after we started, they suddenly had twenty people online rampaging across the galaxy too. We couldn't help but wonder what was going on in that guild, for them to be able to spontaneously get so many people online to grind points late on a Saturday evening (since the rampage clearly seemed to be a response to our own). Did none of them have anything else going on in their lives? Either way we had at least briefly overtaken them by this point, though somehow they always seemed to be able to pull another million out of thin air at the end of the day.

A strange proposition

Things took a strange turn on Sunday evening. We had just set out to start rampaging again when a member of the guild brought to our attention that someone from the Trashies with whom he had sometimes interacted in PvP and pugs had messaged him about Total Galactic War. Specifically, the person had asked whether we were saving our Personal Conquest Requisitions for the end, as he had heard from someone else that we had "cheated" our way to victory that way in the past. (I bet that was someone from Ace of Saints!) Specifically, he stated that if we were planning to do that again, they might as well give up now and not waste their time.

We were on voice chat when we were told about this and weren't quite sure what to make of it - it sounded almost too good to be true! Sure, we'd enjoyed the competition well enough until then, but we hadn't really intended for it to be quite so tough this time around, so being handed a win a few days in advance certainly seemed appealing, though there were also concerns that it might be some kind of trick or trap.

Either way, we advised our guildie that it was okay to answer honestly and confirm that yes, this was usually our MO during Total Galactic War. He also hinted that we'd made up pretty big discrepancies via the use of PQRs in the past, without giving away any exact numbers or what we had in store this time. For a brief while we were very cheerful at the idea that we'd practically won already.

However, not long afterwards, the Trashies once again formed up to start rampaging again too. I'm still not sure what happened there exactly, considering the guy seemed so close to understanding the situation - whether his offer to surrender had never been genuine and he'd simply been fishing for information, whether there was some kind of miscommunication or what - either way they were once again back to fighting harder than ever. We initially just shrugged it off as an oddity and continued our grinding for points as before.

Another twist and - a spy?

However, things took an even stranger turn less than twenty-four hours later, as the guy from the Trashies whispered our guildie again, this time to tell him that someone from his guild had transferred in Personal Conquest Requisitions worth thirty million points from other servers, and while he didn't exactly approve of winning that way, he could hardly stop him now, could he?

This 180 degree turn from seemingly being ready to give up to "no, you should probably give up" was very surprising, and to be honest, not very believable from our point of view. Only the day before, he'd been very incredulous at just how many points worth of tokens my guild had saved up in previous Total Galactic Wars, questioning whether that was even possible without exploiting, just to suddenly find a guildie of his own who'd had millions worth of tokens in his back pocket all along?

We had first-hand experience with what it meant to use thirty million points worth of PQRs in a single event, and while it's very much possible, it takes a lot of time and considerable effort to accumulate that many of them. In our case, it had been years in the making, after we'd missed out on our chance to conquer Belsavis again and again, and had reached a point where we were basically willing to do whatever it took to win it. The idea that someone in a guild that hadn't really been interested in Conquest before would just suddenly be able to conjure up 200+ PQRs on a whim seemed highly unlikely.

We'd barely had time to discuss this when another twist occurred - another guildie who isn't actually very involved in guild business and doesn't care about Conquest (but had taken note of all the chatter about it this week) piped up to say that he was on a lot of different Discord servers, including the one for Sequels are trash, and that someone there had just posted a screenshot of a character with a whole cargo bay full of Personal Conquest Requisitions, which he then went on to share with us.

One reason this was startling was that someone had been joking off-handedly about how we might have a "spy" in the guild, and now it turned out that we kind of did. Since the guildie in question doesn't care about Conquest either way, I doubt he was intentionally leaking secrets to the Trashies, but he might well have thrown some off-hand comments about our strategy their way, just like he'd now shared their screenshot with us.

The other surprise was that the screenshot seemed to provide proof that the mysterious Trashy with his thirty million points worth of tokens appeared to be real - though doubt remained of course, because no character or guild name were visible in the screenshot, so it really could have been anyone, or it could have been photo-shopped, or... well, you get the idea.

I'm not gonna lie: in the moment, seeing all of that was a bit disheartening. I was willing to believe that we were unlucky enough for the story to be true, and thirty million points is a lot to overcome. I was pretty sure that we didn't have that many PQRs lying around at that moment ourselves. Did that mean we had already lost?

No, giving up over mere words was not the Twin Suns way. I quickly pulled myself together and told the other officers that while I'd acknowledged the risk of losing, we weren't just going to hand victory to the Trashies without them still having to work for it. I did a tally of our biggest token holders and decided that all was not lost yet, though there was a potential chance that things could still go very wrong for us.

The final countdown

On Monday things seemed to be fairly quiet in Sequels are trash, which certainly aligned with the idea that they were confident in their victory now that this one guy had an additional thirty million points in his back pocket. I'd shared my plans with my guildies on voice chat, and they agreed that we weren't just going to lie down and give up, though we considered not bothering with a rampage that evening to give ourselves a bit of a break.

However, not much later the Trashies suddenly surged in activity again and were back to rampaging themselves - which was odd and seemed to contradict the idea that they were sure of their impending victory. We decided to follow their lead at least for a couple of hours so as not to fall too far behind, and for once, we actually had more people online than they did. We were slowly but surely catching up again - until, like clockwork, they always seemed to gain another 200k points from somewhere. This made it very obvious that for all the questioning of how legit it was to be using Personal Conquest Requisitions at the end, they clearly had no qualms about popping them like candy to stay in first place at all times - something that people had already suspected, but which to me hadn't been fully proven until that night.

There was one funny moment when both guilds ended up running into each other in the heroic area on Oricon, and things were extremely manic for a minute or two as people were surging all over the place and both friendly and hostile emotes were flying left and right. Personally I just kept yelling "follow the star" as I was worried about some of my more easily confused guildies running after the other ops group by accident.

We finished the night being somewhat behind yet again, but only by a few million. Just as I was about to log off, I saw someone from Sequels are trash walk up to me on the fleet and recognised the same guy that had been talking to our guildie. He soon whispered me too, to ask about our token stockpile once again, and happily chattered away about how it had been a fun competition but surely there was no point in either of us wasting our resources on a big token battle tomorrow. I gave a few polite but non-committal replies and then logged off. For someone who seemingly wanted us to just fold, he still seemed quite uncertain of his own guild's position.

The next morning a small number of us ground out a few more points the normal way and then gathered round just before Conquest's end. The worst case scenario I could think of was that the enemy's big PQR holder just decided to pop them all to ensure the Trashies' victory, but on the plus side, since 200+ tokens which are subject to the global cooldown actually take more than ten minutes to click, we'd be able to see it coming.

What I considered the more likely scenario, since they did have a "natural" lead of several million points and based on the previous night's whispers showing a reluctance to go all out and "waste" resources, was that they'd be at the ready to use some Personal Conquest Requisitions if we showed any sign of fighting but would probably prefer not to use too many, if any at all. This seemed confirmed when they used a few tokens to increase their lead back up to about five million and then stopped.

Meanwhile I'd instructed the guildies online with me to "play dead" and wait. Based on some of our previous token clicking wars, I had a pretty good idea of how long personal point gains took to be added first to the guild total and then to the global scoreboard, so I waited until the Conquest timer had nearly run out and then told everyone to go (as well as clicking my own Personal Conquest Requisitions). About a minute later, our guild score jumped, and with less than a minute to go on Total Galactic War, our new, massively increased total appeared on the board and we leap-frogged the Trashies' score by about ten million points. Seconds later, Twin Suns Squadron had officially conquered Taris, without our opponents having had any real chance to react. We did not get any more messages about what a great competition it had been after that.

The scoreboard for Republic Taris at the end of Total Galactic War. Twin Suns Squadron finished in first place with more than 138 million Conquest points, with Sequels are trash in second place with 127 million points

Ultimate thoughts

And thus another epic tale of Conquest victory was added to the annals of the Twin Suns. It definitely was a bit of a weird one though and provided some interesting food for thought. I find it interesting for example that everyone is fine with Personal Conquest Requisitions being used at the start or over the course of the event, but if you save them for the end, some people consider it "cheating".

All the conversations with what I can only assume was an officer or even the GM of Sequels are trash definitely added a strange new dimension to things as well. It made me realise that I definitely prefer to not get interpersonally involved with our opponents in Conquest. "Psychological warfare" via the scoreboard is one thing (such as by pushing your score up strategically to demotivate your opponent), but trying to talk them into or out of things one to one is a bit too awkward for my personal taste. I just want to compete based on the rules of the game, and maybe do the virtual equivalent of a polite handshake at the end to pay respect to a good competition.

With all the messages we got... I still don't quite know what to make of them even now. Was it all part of a grand game of deception/trying to get us to give up? The kindest interpretation I can think of is that the guy kind of thought of a stash of Conquest Requisitions as something like a pile of nukes - better used for deterrence than actually deployed - and that it genuinely pained him to think of seeing it all get burned up. But this is just a game; nobody gets hurt in Total Galactic War and the resources are there to be used.

I do think it was ultimately ironic that the Trashies had more information about us than most of our recent opponents, that we explicitly told them what our strategy was going to be - and yet they still fought until the very end just to lose to us doing exactly what we said we were going to do. If you read this, man, I hope your guildies didn't end up being too cranky, and I do still agree that it was a fun contest.